Vegetarian Bean Chili

I love to warm up with a bowl of this chili!

chili

Served over rice and garnished with cheddar cheese.

I do not like super “hot” dishes, so I cut the chili powder, cayenne pepper, and white pepper down a bit.

I also did not like randomly biting into cumin seeds, so I switched out ground cumin for the seeds, adjusting the amount appropriately.

Shopping list (ingredients that may not be on hand)
onion
red bell pepper
garlic
crushed tomatoes, canned
beans, canned
corn, frozen
lime
fresh cilantro

Source
The Best Recipe: Soups and Stews, by the editors of Cook’s Illustrated magazine, 2001 edition, page 283

This entry was posted in The Best Recipe Soups and Stews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegetarian Bean Chili

  1. Ani says:

    I love the idea of serving this chili over rice! Like a burrito bowl 🙂

  2. This looks awesome! I am going to have to make this for the bf soon as I move to DC next week… seems like a great meal to warm you up in the cold north winter! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

