Grilled Eggplant Pasta Bake with Lentils and Feta

I have started on a search for the perfect replacement lasagna, and Passionate Vegetarian has several versions I intend to try. This was the first. Once I decided it was not “lasagna,” I loved it–although I need to experiment with making the sauce more saucey (it’s a little dry).

lentil bake

I cut the recipe in half–trial run, and I do not think Rosebud is going to be a fan.

The only recipe drawback is having to flip in the book between three different pages, as it combines component recipes in its assembly.

Shopping list (ingredients that may not be on hand)
eggplant
low-fat milk
cornstarch
evaporated milk
Parmesan cheese
Neufchatel cream cheese
lasagna noodles
onion
garlic
crushed tomatoes
tomato paste
bread for bread crumbs
Italian parsley

Menu planning tips
The recipe does a great job of laying out the order in which to make the component layers. However, keep in mind that you need to soak and cook the lentils for the sauce and salt-water soak and grill/broil the eggplant ahead of time.

I have never cooked eggplant before, and I was not really clear on broiling it (an option mentioned in the margin of the recipe). These directions from Nom Nom Paleo were very helpful. I completely agree about using a mandoline to slice the eggplant evenly. I have a mandoline, but it would not cut the slices as thick as I needed, so, someday, I may look into a new one (she makes a suggestion in her post).

Notes for me on future refinements
I think, add more crushed tomatoes to sauce
Try adding a bit more honey to sauce
Possibly cut down on the herbs
This recipe uses more lasagna noodles than my traditional recipe (make enough!)

Source
Passionate Vegetarian by Crescent Dragonwagon, page 363 in 2002 edition.

This entry was posted in Passionate Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grilled Eggplant Pasta Bake with Lentils and Feta

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Juice | The Triangling Vegetarian

  2. Pingback: My Most Important Lesson from Bar Prep Was Not About the Law | BJJ, Law, and Living

Leave a Reply

